Translate page

GoldmanPrize medal RGB reduc 
Congratulations to the recipients

February 2017 - Each year the International CML Foundation awards three prizes to recognise and reward outstanding achievements and contributions to the management and understanding of CML.

We are delighted to share the well-deserved 2017 prize recipients:

  • Rowley Prize - Professor Tessa Holyoake. This award acknowledges outstanding contributions to the understanding of the biology of CML and is awarded to Tessa Holyoake in recognition of her ground breaking work understanding and targeting CML stem cells.
  • Goldman Prize – Professor Tim Hughes. This prize recognises outstanding contributions to clinical management of CML and is awarded to Tim Hughes in recognition of his wide-ranging contributions to clinical research and CML treatment.
  • iCMLf Prize – Professor Jerry Radich. The iCMLf prize recognises outstanding contributions to improving the treatment of CML in the emerging economic regions. Jerry Radich is awarded the 2017 iCMLf prize for his dedication to developing methods to increase access to molecular monitoring in these regions.

iCMLf Forum 2016 Podium

February 2017 - Webstreams of the presentations from the iCMLf Forum for Physicians from Emerging Regions 2016 are now available to view. This year's Forum focused on 'Managing the high risk CML patient'. Presenters give the local emerging regions perspectives on each topic followed iCMLf experts and a discussion with the audience.

Topics include:

  1. Meeting the new challenges in CML therapy 
    Professor Brian Druker (USA) 
  2. Frontline therapy challenges 
    Professor Tapan Saikia (India) and Professor Andreas Hochhaus (Germany)
  3. Comorbidities when managing CML
    Dr Anthony Oyekunle (Botswana) and Dr Delphine Réa (France)

Logo ASH 3

January 2016 - Important CML news was presented at the 58th Meeting of the American Society of Hematology (ASH) in San Diego. This included; data to help guide treatment discontinuation and TFR monitoring, Phase I results of a new tyrosine kinase inhibitor and new findings on the use of generics. We have compiled a selection of these CML highlights to assist you follow the latest scientific advancements in CML.

iCMLf Newsletter Dec 16 Cover   

Download the pdf file here

December 2016 - Contents overview:

  • Report on the 18th John Goldman Conference on CML in Houston 
  • iCMLf Prizes featuring keynote presentations from the 2016 prize winners
  • 2016 Diagnosis & Testing grants to improve access to CML diagnosis and testing
  • John Goldman Fun Run supporting the work of the Foundation
  • Upcoming important scientific meeting

VEP Müller

December 2016 - You will find new online presentations on the Virtual Education Program recorded at the 18th Annual John Goldman Conference on CML in Houston. Two well-known experts talk about different aspects on modern CML diagnostics like molecular monitoring in CML and mutation screening.                                       


Additional presentations from the modern diagnostics session, which was held at the John Goldman CML meeting in Houston this year, will be available soon.

December 2016 - With our mission to improve the outcomes for patients with CML globally, part of the iCMLf's mandate is to recognise and reward outstanding achievements and contributions to the management and understanding of CML around the world. GoldmanPrize medal RGB reducTo this end the iCMLf awards three prizes each year. We welcome your ideas and input to who should receive these prestigious awards in 2016. 

  1. The Rowley Prize - recognising outstanding lifetime contribution to our understanding of the biology of CML. Previous winners include: Brian Druker, Moshe Talpaz, John Goldman, George Q. Daley, Connie Eaves, Owen Witte, Rick Van Etten and Nora Heisterkamp / John Groffen.
  2. The Goldman Prize - recognising lifetime contributions to the management of patients with CML. Previous winners include: Rüdiger Hehlmann, Michele Baccarani and Hagop Kantarjian. 
  3. The iCMLf Prize - recognising outstanding contributions to overcome the challenges of treating CML in the emerging regions. Previous winners include: Pat Garcia-Gonzalez and Susan Branford. 

Nominations for the 2017 iCMLf prizes are now closed. Expressions of interest for 2018 are welcome here.