Translate page

Collage iCMLf Prizes 2024March 2024 - We are delighted to announce the recipients of the 2024 iCMLf Prizes; Professor Neil P. Shah (Rowley Prize), Professor Jeff H Lipton (Goldman Prize), and Viji Venkatesh (iCMLf Prize).

Following numerous nominations received from the CML community, a panel of previous prize winners and the iCMLf Directors and Advisors has selected these individuals to acknowledge their exceptional contributions to advancing our understanding of CML biology and enhancing CML management.

All three are globally respected personalities and recognised experts in their field with a long professional and personal heritage in CML - as scientists, clinicians and patient advocates.

We extend our heartfelt gratitude to all prize recipients for their unwavering dedication, inspirational work, and tireless commitment to people living with CML.

Allow us to introduce you to the 2024 iCMLf Prize winners:

  • Rowley Prize – Professor Neil P Shah (USA)
    The iCMLf Rowley Prize recognises outstanding contributions to the understanding of the biology of CML. Professor Shah is awarded this prize for his ground-breaking translational research and profound insights into molecular mechanisms of resistance to TKI therapy. His work has significantly contributed to our understanding of molecular mechanisms of resistance and has led to vital breakthroughs in the development of treatment strategies to overcome resistance.

  • Goldman Prize – Professor Jeff H Lipton (Canada)
    The iCMLf Goldman Prize recognises outstanding contributions to the clinical management of CML. Professor Lipton is honoured for his remarkable contributions to advancing clinical practice in CML. His extensive clinical research spans important clinical trials on CML including novel agents aimed at overcoming drug resistance as well as pioneering work on the management of patients after allogeneic stem cell transplantation.
  • iCMLf Prize – Viji Venkatesh (India)
    The iCMLf Prize acknowledges outstanding contributions to improving the treatment of CML in low and middle-income countries to address unequal access to monitoring and treatment of CML. Viji Venkatesh is awarded this prize for her remarkable contributions to advancing cancer care and patient support, particularly in low-resource settings as well as her visionary leadership and compassion in creating unique CML awareness programs.

The 2024 prize medals will be awarded during ceremonies at the 26th ESH-iCMLf John Goldman Conference on CML in Prague in September. A highlight will be the keynote presentations by the award winners with insights into their amazing work.

Please join us in congratulating all the prize recipients on their well-deserved recognition, on behalf of the entire CML community.