Translate page

Recognising excellence in CML. Nominate for the 2023 iCMLf Prizes

Collage iCMLf Prizes winners 2022 KopieWe hope you had a wonderful start into the New Year. In 2023, we continue with our tradition to recognise and reward excellence in the management and research of CML with the iCMLf Prizes.

Over the past years, we have honoured 33 scientists, clinicians and patient advocates with the three specific prizes. It has now turned into an impressive gallery of ‘Giants in CML’ – people who played a major role in advancing our understanding of the biology of CML and to improving the management of CML throughout their career.

Who would you like to see awarded the iCMLf prizes this year?

You can nominate colleagues and mentors for the three prizes below:

Andreas HochhausThe 2022 Goldman Prize is awarded to Professor Andreas Hochhaus

We are delighted to announce Professor Andreas Hochhaus, Head of the Department of Hematology and Medical Oncology at Jena University Hospital as the 2022 Goldman Prize recipient. He receives the prize in recognition of his outstanding clinical leadership in CML and for his lifelong contributions to the optimization of CML therapy – through his work on mechanisms of resistance and stem cell persistence, through leading clinical studies and through the development of clinical recommendations. The annual Goldman Prize awarded in honour of Professor John Goldman, acknowledges outstanding lifetime contributions to the management of patients with CML.

Oliver HantschelThe 2022 Rowley Prize is awarded to Professor Oliver Hantschel

The iCMLf awards the 2022 Rowley Prize to Professor Oliver Hantschel, for his scientific research on structural biochemistry of tyrosine kinase oncoproteins that helped to describe novel targetable pathways in the pathophysiology of BCR-ABL. The Rowley Prize is awarded to celebrate people who have made outstanding lifetime contributions to the understanding of the biology of CML.

Collage iCMLf Prize 2022The 2022 iCMLf Prize is awarded to Giora Sharf and Jan Geissler

This year, the iCMLf Directors and Advisors have selected two powerful voices for patients with CML as recipients for the iCMLf Prize. Giora Sharf (Israel) and Jan Geissler (Germany) have used the experience of their own diagnosis to help other patients. They have tirelessly advocated for the needs of patients with CML across the world over the past decades. The iCMLf Prize recognizes outstanding contributions to the improvement of CML treatment in low- and middle-income countries. As giants in patient advocacy around the world, Jan and Giora are worthy recipients of this award.

The iCMLf Prizes


iCMLf Rowley Prizejanetrowley-head-mod-small 

The Rowley Prize is awarded each year by the iCMLf to an individual who has made an outstanding lifetime contribution to our understanding of the biology of CML. The Rowley Prize was awarded for the first time in 2009 to Dr Brian Druker, followed by Dr Moshe Talpaz (2010), Dr John Goldman (2011), Dr George Q Daley (2012), Dr Connie Eaves (2013), Dr. Owen Witte (2014), Dr Rick Van Etten (2015), Professors John Groffen and Nora Heisterkamp (2016), Professor Tessa Holyoake (2017), Professor Nick Cross (2018), Professor Michael Deininger (2019), Professor Ravi Bhatia (2020) and Professor Susan Branford (2021). 

Dr Janet Rowley kindly gave the iCMLf permission to name this prestigious award in her honour. Prior to her death in December 2013, Dr Rowley was the Blum-Riese Distinguished Service Professor of Medicine, Molecular Genetics and Cell Biology and Human 
Genetics at the University of Chicago. In 1973 she made a seminal discovery in CML when she used newly developed chromosome banding techniques to show that the Philadelphia chromosome is formed by a translocation between chromosomes 9 and 22. This discovery led to the eventual identification of the fusion gene BCR-ABL and ultimately to the development of targeted inhibitors of this leukemia-specific oncoprotein. This is one of many major contributions made by Dr Rowley and her team to our understanding of the molecular biology of leukemia and other cancers. She was recently awarded the Presidential Medal of Freedom, the highest civilian honour awarded in the USA.


iCMLf Goldman Prizejohn goldman

The iCMLf Goldman Prize complements the Rowley Prize as a clinical equivalent by recognising lifetime contributions to the management of patients with CML. This award has been created in memory of the late iCMLf chair, John Goldman, to honour his commitment to clinical excellence in treating CML. John Goldman was an outstanding scientist with a worldwide recognition and a leading figure in CML research. During his career of over 40 years he made major contribution to the understanding of the biology and the treatment of CML. He made seminal contributions to a variety of breakthroughs in CML research particularly in the field of stem cell transplantation, in the clinical development of new therapies and in the advancements of diagnostics. He was the first to demonstrate the presence of stem cells in the peripheral blood of CML patients and their potential role in autografting patients with CML. He also pioneered allogeneic stem cell transplant for CML in Europe. John Goldman played a distinctive and visionary role for the iCMLf as one of its co-founders and sitting chair at the time of his death. The Goldman Prize was awarded for the first time in 2014 to Professor Rüdiger Hehlmann, he was followed by Michele Bacarrani (2015), Professor Hagop Kantarjian (2016), Professor Tim Hughes (2017), Professor Jorge Cortes (2018), Professor François-Xavier Mahon (2019), Professor Jane Apperley (2020) and Professor Giuseppe Saglio (2021).


iCMLf Prize

In 2015 the iCMLf introduced a new prize. The iCMLf Prize is awarded annually by the iCMLf to recognise outstanding contributions to the improvement of CML treatment in the emerging economic regions. The iCMLf Prize was formerly named the ERSAP (Emerging Regions Support and Partnership Prize) and was first awarded in 2015 to Pat Garcia-Gonzalez, CEO of The Max Foundation. She was followed by Associate Professor Susan Branford in 2016, Professor Jerry Radich (2017), Professor Hemant Malhotra (2018), Dr Carolina Pavlovsky (2019), Dr Sabira Kurtovic (2020) and Dr Damira Bayzakova (2021). 


susan branfordThe 2021 Rowley Prize is awarded to Professor Susan Branford

The iCMLf is pleased to announce Professor Susan Branford, SA Pathology and Centre for Cancer Biology in Adelaide as the 2021 Rowley Prize winner. This annual prize awarded by the International CML Foundation recognises outstanding contributions to the understanding of the biology of CML. Sue is a leading international authority on molecular monitoring for CML and a major contributor to international collaborative initiatives to establish guidelines and recommendations for producing reliable molecular data.