Translate page

April 2018 - We are delighted to announce new members of the iCMLf board of Directors and Scientific Advisory Committee. The iCMLf was formed to assist the CML scientific community by leading haematologists in the field. As such, the trustees and advisors of the Foundation are all key CML experts. These people are critical to the strength of the iCMLf giving most generously of their time and expertise. In 2018 we welcome 2 new Directors and 4 new advisors to the iCMLf.


Michael Mauro and Giuseppe Saglio nominated to the Board of Directors

With Professor Michael Mauro (USA) and Professor Giuseppe Saglio (Italy) the iCMLf Directors have nominated two renowned CML experts to the Board of Directors of the Foundation. Their expertise will help guide the iCMLf’s strategy and further shape the Foundation’s programs.

  • Michael Mauro directs the Myeloproliferative Neoplasms (MPN) Program at the Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center in New York. For more than a decade he directed the CML clinical trial program at the OHSU Knight Cancer Institute in Portland and was involved in the early development and sentinel clinical study of targeted therapies for CML.
    Read more about Michael Mauro here

  • Giuseppe Saglio is Professor of Internal Medicine and Haematology at the University of Turin. He is Director of the Department of Clinical and Biological Sciences at the University of Turin and responsible for the Division of Internal Medicine and Haematology at San Luigi University Hospital.
    Read more about Giuseppe Saglio here

We welcome new Scientific Advisors

Members of the iCMLf Scientific Advisory Committee are respected haematologists, scientists and patient representatives who provide guidance and support for the activities of the Foundation.

  • Professor Mhairi Copland
    Paul O`Gorman Leukaemia Research Centre, University of Glasgow (UK)
  • Dr Carolina Pavlovsky
    Fundaleu Hospital and Clinical Research Centre, Buenos Aires (Argentina)
  • Dr Delphine Réa
    Hôpital St Louis, Paris (France)
  • Professor Susanne Saußele
    Medizinische Fakultät Mannheim, University of Heidelberg (Germany)

To ensure global representation for the iCMLf, 36 National Representatives provide advice to the Board and assist implementation of the Foundation’s activities at a local level. Learn more about the iCMLf National Representatives here.

Arlene Harriss-Buchan is the new ERSAP Program Coordinator

After six years with the iCMLf Melissa Davis-Bishop who has been coordinating the Foundation’s Emerging Regions Support Programs, has left the Foundation to accept a full time position. Melissa work was invaluable for the smooth running of our programs and she will be missed.

Please welcome Arlene Harriss-Buchan as the new ERSAP Program Coordinator. Arlene comes from a science background with a PhD in Biochemistry from the University of Aberdeen, Scotland and Glaxo Group Research. She spent 15 years turning good science into good public policy through leading the Australian Conservation Foundation’s Healthy Rivers Program.

With change comes opportunity and we look forward to many years working with our current members, continuing to build the work of the Foundation helping all those treating and researching CML.

We also take this opportunity to thank all our Directors, Scientific Advisors and National representatives for their commitment to the iCMLf. It’s only through your tireless support that we are able to make a difference to the lives of so many patients with CML worldwide.