Translate page

02 DSC 3070 Kopie

March 2020 - The iCMLf awards the 2020 iCMLf Prize to Dr Sabira Kurtovic, a hematologist at the Clinical Centre of the University of Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina.

This iCMLf Prize recognises outstanding contributions to the improvement of CML treatment under the challenging conditions of low- and middle-income countries with unequal access to monitoring and treatment. Dr Kurtovic is awarded the iCMLf Prize for her tireless work to ensure that patients with CML in Bosnia and Herzegovina receive the best possible care and have access to treatment with tyrosine kinase inhibitors (TKIs).

"I am thrilled and delighted that Dr Kurtovic will receive the 2020 iCMLf Prize. She has demonstrated a humanitarian spirit and drive through war and beyond, managing always to keep patient welfare at the forefront. Having worked with her I know first hand her dedication, intelligence, and compassion."
(Professor Jerry Radich, Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Centre)


March 2020 - The iCMLf is pleased to announce the winner of the 2020 Goldman Prize. Professor Jane Apperley, Chair of the Centre for Haematology at Imperial College, London, UK will receive her Goldman medal during the 2020 John Goldman meeting on CML in October. The annual Goldman Prize, awarded in honour of Professor John Goldman, acknowledges outstanding contributions to the management of patients with CML. Professor Apperley receives the prize in recognition of her exceptional reputation as a clinical academic and her many years of expertise in CML and blood and bone marrow transplantation.

"Jane has been one of the leaders in CML research for many years. She has helped us not only develop better therapies for patients with CML, but with thorough, thoughtful and innovative research and analysis, understand the best way to manage patients incorporating all known variables and even helping us think of new variables that play a role. She has always kept a critical but balanced view of the data and performed innovative and groundbreaking research. Jane and her group have been leaders in CML research for many years and her contributions make her a very deserving recipient of this award. And even more fitting having worked with John for so many years.”
(Professor Jorge Cortes, Georgia Cancer Center, Augusta University)

RS18632 Ravi Bhatia 2 KopieMarch 2020 - We are delighted to announce that this year Professor Ravi Bhatia, Director of the University of Alabama Division of Hematology-Oncology and Deputy Director of the O’Neal Comprehensive Cancer Center at the University of Alabama in Birmingham, USA, joins the long line of internationally renowned scientists awarded the iCMLf Rowley Prize. This annual prize awarded by the International CML Foundation recognises outstanding contributions to the understanding of the biology of CML.

‘Ravi Bhatia is a global leader in leukemia research who has made fundamental discoveries about the nature of the leukemic stem cell in CML. These discoveries are leading to promising therapeutic developments. He is also a generous and inspirational mentor and educator. Ravi is a very worthy winner of the Rowley Prize for 2020.’
(Timothy Hughes, Chairman of the iCMLf)

rdd logoFebruary 2020 - Today we join many other organizations supporting rare diseases and patients all over the world to raise awareness for rare diseases. There are over 300 million people living with a rare disease worldwide.

With an incidence of between 1 and 2 people per 100,000 people annually, CML is a rare disease making it even harder for patients living with CML in low- and middle-income countries to be heard and to get access to appropriate monitoring and treatment.

Logo WorldCancerDay February 2020 - Today is World Cancer Day. I can and I will.

Andy Ojelabi“Somebody has to make the change. It starts with me. I am creating awareness.”
(Andy Ojelabi, Nigeria)

Andy –a CML patient from Nigeria climbed Mount Kilimanjaro with us to raise awareness on CML and to raise funds for the iCMLf CURE Program.

January 2020 - At the 21th Annual John Goldman Conference on CML in Bordeaux the iCMLf Directors awarded the Foundation’s 2019 prize medals. This was followed by keynote presentations from the three prize winners. You can view web streams of the Rowley Prize and the iCMLf Prize keynote presentations here. Unfortunately François-Xavier Mahon's presentation on 'Curing CML: To be, or not to be, that is the question' (Goldman Prize) is not available as a web stream.

Collage 2019 iCMLf Prizes


  • 2019 Rowley Prize: Professor Michael Deininger
  • 2019 Goldman Prize: Professor François-Xavier Mahon
  • 2019 iCMLf Prize: Dr Carolina Pavlovsky