Translate page

GoldmanPrize medal RGB reducNominate for the 2019 iCMLf prizes

The Foundation is celebrating its 10th anniversary next year. This also marks the tenth anniversary of our tradition to recognise and reward personal contributions and outstanding achievements to our understanding of the biology of CML and to improving the management of patients with CML around the world. It all started with the first iCMLf Rowley Prize awarded to Professor Brian Druker in 2009. This was followed by the introduction of the iCMLf Goldman Prize in 2014 and the iCMLf Prize in 2015.

We will continue this tradition next year. You are now welcome to nominate a colleague, or mentor for one of the 2019 prizes. Who would you like to see awarded the iCMLf prizes next year?

The iCMLf Prizes


iCMLf Rowley Prizejanetrowley-head-mod-small 

The Rowley Prize is awarded each year by the iCMLf to an individual who has made an outstanding lifetime contribution to our understanding of the biology of CML. The Rowley Prize was awarded for the first time in 2009 to Dr Brian Druker, followed by Dr Moshe Talpaz (2010), Dr John Goldman (2011), Dr George Q Daley (2012), Dr Connie Eaves (2013), Dr. Owen Witte (2014), Dr Rick Van Etten (2015), Professors John Groffen and Nora Heisterkamp (2016) and Professor Tessa Holyoake in 2017. 

Dr Janet Rowley kindly gave the iCMLf permission to name this prestigious award in her honour. Prior to her death in December 2013, Dr Rowley was the Blum-Riese Distinguished Service Professor of Medicine, Molecular Genetics and Cell Biology and Human 
Genetics at the University of Chicago. In 1973 she made a seminal discovery in CML when she used newly developed chromosome banding techniques to show that the Philadelphia chromosome is formed by a translocation between chromosomes 9 and 22. This discovery led to the eventual identification of the fusion gene BCR-ABL and ultimately to the development of targeted inhibitors of this leukemia-specific oncoprotein. This is one of many major contributions made by Dr Rowley and her team to our understanding of the molecular biology of leukemia and other cancers. She was recently awarded the Presidential Medal of Freedom, the highest civilian honour awarded in the USA.


iCMLf Goldman Prizejohn goldman

The iCMLf Goldman Prize complements the Rowley Prize as a clinical equivalent by recognising lifetime contributions to the management of patients with CML. This award has been created in memory of the late iCMLf chair, John Goldman, to honour his commitment to clinical excellence in treating CML. John Goldman was an outstanding scientist with a worldwide recognition and a leading figure in CML research. During his career of over 40 years he made major contribution to the understanding of the biology and the treatment of CML. He made seminal contributions to a variety of breakthroughs in CML research particularly in the field of stem cell transplantation, in the clinical development of new therapies and in the advancements of diagnostics. He was the first to demonstrate the presence of stem cells in the peripheral blood of CML patients and their potential role in autografting patients with CML. He also pioneered allogeneic stem cell transplant for CML in Europe. John Goldman played a distinctive and visionary role for the iCMLf as one of its co-founders and sitting chair at the time of his death. The Goldman Prize was awarded for the first time in 2014 to Professor Rüdiger Hehlmann, he was followed by Michele Bacarrani (2015), Professor Hagop Kantarjian (2016) and Professor Tim Hughes as the Prize recipient in 2017. 


iCMLf Prize

In 2015 the iCMLf introduced a new prize. The iCMLf Prize is awarded annually by the iCMLf to recognise outstanding contributions to the improvement of CML treatment in the emerging economic regions. The iCMLf Prize was formerly named the ERSAP (Emerging Regions Support and Partnership Prize) and was first awarded in 2015 to Pat Garcia-Gonzalez, CEO of The Max Foundation. She was followed by Associate Professor Susan Branford in 2016. The 2017 prize is awarded to Professor Jerry Radich. 


Nick CrossThe 2018 iCMLf Rowley Prize is awarded to Professor Nick Cross

‘Nick Cross has been the driving force behind the harmonization of molecular response criteria in CML, especially deep molecular response, a critical step towards making TFR possible and practical. He has also led the discovery and description of BCR-ABL-negative CML-like syndromes.’ (Timothy Hughes, Chairman of the iCMLf)

The 2018 Rowley Prize winner is Nick Cross, Professor of Human Genetics at the University of Southampton (UK). Professor Cross receives the prize in recognition of his scientific achievements to better understand the molecular pathogenesis of chronic myeloid leukemia and the development, validation and standardisation of genetic tests.

Jorge Cortes 2013The 2018 iCMLf Goldman Prize is awarded to Professor Jorge Cortes

'Jorge has led many of the most important CML trials over the past decade and is now regarded as the pre-eminent world expert in CML management. He has also tirelessly disseminated his unique expertise to colleagues at his own centre and around the world.' 
(Timothy Hughes, Chairman of the iCMLf)

Jorge Cortes, Professor of Medicine and Deputy Chair at the Department of Leukemia at the MD Anderson Cancer Center, has been awarded the 2018 iCMLf Goldman Prize. The award celebrates his globally recognised expertise and life-long commitment to the management of patients with CML.

The 2017 Rowley Prize is awarded to Professor Tessa HolyoakeGlasgow TessaHolyoake

Tessa Holyoake, Professor of Experimental Haematology at the Glasgow Paul O’Gorman Leukaemia Research Centre has been awarded the 2017 iCMLf Rowley Prize.

The Rowley Prize is awarded each year by the International CML Foundation to celebrate people who have made outstanding lifetime contributions to the understanding of the biology of CML. Professor Holyoake receives the prize in recognition of her ground breaking work understanding and targeting CML stem cells.

Hemant MalhotraThe 2018 iCMLf Prize is awarded to Hemant Malhotra from India 

'The award recognises Hemant’s remarkable achievements in CML management in a challenging environment and his work to improve outcomes for CML patients.' 
(Timothy Hughes, Chairman of the iCMLf)

The iCMLf Directors and Advisors have selected Dr Hemant Malhotra, Senior Professor at the SMS Medical College Hospital and Head of the Division of Medical Oncology at the RK Birla Cancer Centre in Jaipur (India) as the 2018 iCMLf Prize winner. Dr Malhotra receives the prize in recognition of his tireless efforts and remarkable achievements to advance the treatment of CML patients in India and neighbouring countries.