facebook  linkedin xpix

Diary Dates
Save the date for important iCMLf meetings and programs

Become a member

Become an iCMLf member - help shape our future

Please donate

Support our activities
by donating
Donate here


We thank all our supporters and partners


If you are not a member, please click on "Register". If you have forgotten your password, please click on "Forgot login?" below.

The iCMLf Prizes


iCMLf Rowley Prizejanetrowley-head-mod-small 

The Rowley Prize is awarded each year by the iCMLf to an individual who has made an outstanding lifetime contribution to our understanding of the biology of CML. The Rowley Prize was awarded for the first time in 2009 to Dr Brian Druker, followed by Dr Moshe Talpaz (2010), Dr John Goldman (2011), Dr George Q Daley (2012), Dr Connie Eaves (2013), Dr. Owen Witte (2014), Dr Rick Van Etten (2015), Professors John Groffen and Nora Heisterkamp (2016) and Professor Tessa Holyoake in 2017. 

Dr Janet Rowley kindly gave the iCMLf permission to name this prestigious award in her honour. Prior to her death in December 2013, Dr Rowley was the Blum-Riese Distinguished Service Professor of Medicine, Molecular Genetics and Cell Biology and Human 
Genetics at the University of Chicago. In 1973 she made a seminal discovery in CML when she used newly developed chromosome banding techniques to show that the Philadelphia chromosome is formed by a translocation between chromosomes 9 and 22. This discovery led to the eventual identification of the fusion gene BCR-ABL and ultimately to the development of targeted inhibitors of this leukemia-specific oncoprotein. This is one of many major contributions made by Dr Rowley and her team to our understanding of the molecular biology of leukemia and other cancers. She was recently awarded the Presidential Medal of Freedom, the highest civilian honour awarded in the USA.


iCMLf Goldman Prizejohn goldman

The iCMLf Goldman Prize complements the Rowley Prize as a clinical equivalent by recognising lifetime contributions to the management of patients with CML. This award has been created in memory of the late iCMLf chair, John Goldman, to honour his commitment to clinical excellence in treating CML. John Goldman was an outstanding scientist with a worldwide recognition and a leading figure in CML research. During his career of over 40 years he made major contribution to the understanding of the biology and the treatment of CML. He made seminal contributions to a variety of breakthroughs in CML research particularly in the field of stem cell transplantation, in the clinical development of new therapies and in the advancements of diagnostics. He was the first to demonstrate the presence of stem cells in the peripheral blood of CML patients and their potential role in autografting patients with CML. He also pioneered allogeneic stem cell transplant for CML in Europe. John Goldman played a distinctive and visionary role for the iCMLf as one of its co-founders and sitting chair at the time of his death. The Goldman Prize was awarded for the first time in 2014 to Professor Rüdiger Hehlmann, he was followed by Michele Bacarrani (2015), Professor Hagop Kantarjian (2016) and Professor Tim Hughes as the Prize recipient in 2017. 


iCMLf Prize

In 2015 the iCMLf introduced a new prize. The iCMLf Prize is awarded annually by the iCMLf to recognise outstanding contributions to the improvement of CML treatment in the emerging economic regions. The iCMLf Prize was formerly named the ERSAP (Emerging Regions Support and Partnership Prize) and was first awarded in 2015 to Pat Garcia-Gonzalez, CEO of The Max Foundation. She was followed by Associate Professor Susan Branford in 2016. The 2017 prize is awarded to Professor Jerry Radich. 

The 2017 iCMLf Goldman Prize is awarded toTimothy Hughes

Professor Timothy P. Hughes

The iCMLf Directors and a panel of previous prizewinners have named Professor Tim Hughes as the 2017 recipient of the iCMLf Goldman Prize. Named in honour of Professor John Goldman, the Goldman Prize recognises lifetime contributions to the management of patients with CML.

Professor Hughes is an internationally recognised expert in the biology and treatment of CML. He led the establishment of the molecular response criteria that are now used worldwide to measure response in CML. He has also been Principal Investigator for many CML trials and has been on the management committee for many of the key global CML trials using kinase inhibitors.

Read more ...

The 2017 Rowley Prize is awarded to Professor Tessa HolyoakeGlasgow TessaHolyoake

Tessa Holyoake, Professor of Experimental Haematology at the Glasgow Paul O’Gorman Leukaemia Research Centre has been awarded the 2017 iCMLf Rowley Prize.

The Rowley Prize is awarded each year by the International CML Foundation to celebrate people who have made outstanding lifetime contributions to the understanding of the biology of CML. Professor Holyoake receives the prize in recognition of her ground breaking work understanding and targeting CML stem cells.

Read more ...

2017 iCMLf Prize awarded to Professor Jerald RadichJerald Radich

The 2017 iCMLf Prize winner is Professor Jerry Radich. The award is in recognition of his dedication to overcome the challenges of access and expense of CML testing around the world. The iCMLf Prize is awarded by the Foundation to recognise outstanding contributions to the improvement of CML treatment in the emerging economic regions.

Professor Radich has consistently worked to develop methods to make molecular monitoring less expensive, giving both his personal and professional time to increase access to CML diagnosis and monitoring for those who need it most.

Read more ...

The 2016 iCMLf Rowley Prize is awarded to Professors Groffen and Heisterkamp

John Groffen

Nora Heisterkamp

In 2016 the iCMLf Directors and a panel of previous prize winners, have named two renowned scientists as the recipients of the 2016 Rowley Prize: Professor John Groffen and Professor Nora Heisterkamp. This prestigious award celebrates the people who have made outstanding lifetime contributions to the understanding of the biology of CML.

Read more ...

2016 iCMLf Prize winner - Associate Professor Susan Branfordsusan branford

The iCMLf has awarded the 2016 iCMLf prize to Associate Professor Susan Branford. This award recognises the critically important work she has performed to improve the quality and availability of reliable molecular testing for CML in the emerging regions. Her efforts have significantly impacted and improved the management of so many CML patients in these regions.

Read more ...