Translate page

World CML Day pledge banner 2016September 2016 - The iCMLf works to enhance education, increase diagnostics and improve survival. Help us continue to make a difference to the lives of CML patients around the world. We need your help to support the Foundation’s efforts to increase availability of CML testing for accurate diagnosis and testing.

The 22nd of September (9/22) is World CML Day. To support the work of the iCMLf we ask you to pledge 9 pounds* a month for the next 22 months**.

July 2016 - Three new online presentations have recently been added to the Virtual Education Program. Again we were able to engage leaders in the field of CML toVEP Mahon talk about the latest scientific findings on the management of CML. View the following new presentations featuring:

  • Stopping TKI therapy in Chronic Myeloid Leukemia
    Francois-Xavier Mahon, Hospital University of Bordeaux, France
  • Treating pediatric Chronic Myeloid Leukemia – an update
    Meinolf Suttorp, University Hospital Dresden, Germany
  • Perspectives on CML in the Emerging Regions (Interview)
    Pat Garcia-Gonzalez, CEO of The MAX Foundation and recipient of the inaugural iCMLf Prize

You can access the new presentations here

iCMLf Newsletter June 16

Download the pdf file here

June 2016 - contents overview:

  • iCMLf Clinical Preceptorship Program - offering long-lasting benefits
  • New iCMLf educational news services - covering the latest advances in CML
  • CML story published in Blood - CML treatment-free remission critieria outlined
  • iCMLf Prizes - recognising outstanding contributions to CML management
  • iCMLf John Goldman Fund - supporting young physicians from the emerging regions
  • Upcoming important scientific meeting



May 2016 - The iCMLf Diagnosis and Testing Program offers seeding grants to hematology institutions in emerging economic regions. The aim of the program is to facilitate the diagnosis, testing and long-term disease monitoring of CML patients in emerging economic regions where it is either limited, or not currently available.

Over 4 years the iCMLf have awarded 32 grants to enable CML diagnostics to be expanded and enhanced at a local level. This gives both physicians and patients the knowledge to make meaningful decisions on treatment. In 2016 the Foundation will offer 10 grants with funding of up to $10,000.

Applications will close on the 15th of July 2016. Expressions of interest are welcome to or read more for further information on how to apply.

susan branford

April 2016 - The iCMLf has awarded the 2016 iCMLf prize to Associate Professor Susan Branford. This award recognises the critically important work she has performed to improve the quality and availability of reliable molecular testing for CML in the emerging regions. Her efforts have significantly impacted and improved the management of so many CML patients in these regions.

The iCMLf Prize is awarded annually by the iCMLf to recognise outstanding contributions to the improvement of CML treatment in the emerging economic regions. The iCMLf Prize was formally named the ERSAP (Emerging Regions Support and Partnership Prize) and was first awarded in 2015 to Pat Garcia-Gonzalez, CEO of The Max Foundation.

05 medwireNews2

April 2016 - We are delighted to announce that from April we will be bringing you a monthly news service covering the latest clinical and scientific advances in CML.

The news service, provided by medwireNews Springer Healthcare’s independent news bureau, will include summaries of key CML publications. The CML stories are based on articles published in international peer-reviewed journals, or conference sessions and written by highly experienced and knowledgeable writers. 

With this independent educational service we continue to expand our online educational platform complementing other services such as the Virtual Education Program or the Case Discussion Forum. Our aim is to grant equal access to CML education in all parts of the world for the purpose of best possible care for all CML patients.