Translate page

December 2016 - With our mission to improve the outcomes for patients with CML globally, part of the iCMLf's mandate is to recognise and reward outstanding achievements and contributions to the management and understanding of CML around the world. GoldmanPrize medal RGB reducTo this end the iCMLf awards three prizes each year. We welcome your ideas and input to who should receive these prestigious awards in 2016. 

  1. The Rowley Prize - recognising outstanding lifetime contribution to our understanding of the biology of CML. Previous winners include: Brian Druker, Moshe Talpaz, John Goldman, George Q. Daley, Connie Eaves, Owen Witte, Rick Van Etten and Nora Heisterkamp / John Groffen.
  2. The Goldman Prize - recognising lifetime contributions to the management of patients with CML. Previous winners include: Rüdiger Hehlmann, Michele Baccarani and Hagop Kantarjian. 
  3. The iCMLf Prize - recognising outstanding contributions to overcome the challenges of treating CML in the emerging regions. Previous winners include: Pat Garcia-Gonzalez and Susan Branford. 

Nominations for the 2017 iCMLf prizes are now closed. Expressions of interest for 2018 are welcome here.

October 2016 - It has now become a real tradition at the annual John Goldman Conference on CML. Early Sunday morning at 7 amFun Run DSC02963 Kopie 2 participants pack their running shoes for the 5k ‘John Goldman Fun Run’ to support the work of the International CML Foundation.
This year 35 meeting participants of the 18th John Goldman Conference on CML in Houston had an early start to the day before the Sunday morning sessions, running a 5km loop round through Houston’s beautiful Memorial Park. Even this early in the morning it was already pretty hot and humid. Whether for recreation, or sporting excellence, it was great fun running together with colleagues and friends all while supporting the work of the Foundation.

Dr Duru with Professor Snyder at the City of Hope Kopie

October 2016 - In 2017 the iCMLf continues to offer the unique opportunity for up to 30 hematologists from emerging economic regions to undertake a 3-4 week preceptorship at a global CML centre of excellence under the leadership of some of the world’s most experienced hematologists.
The applications for the 2017 program are now open. 

Applications close on December 15, 2016. 
To apply, please complete the application form and email to

iCMLf Annual Report 2015 2016 Cover

"…The 12 surviving CML patients would not have survived without timely diagnosis that was made possible by this grant.” 
Dr Molombe, Malawi (iCMLf grant recipient)

October 2016 - The Annual Report 2015/2016 features the iCMLf activities from Sept. 1st 2015 to August 31st 2016. 
Read more on the highlights in the iCMLf Annual Report 2015/2016 here: 

World CML Day pledge banner 2016September 2016 - The iCMLf works to enhance education, increase diagnostics and improve survival. Help us continue to make a difference to the lives of CML patients around the world. We need your help to support the Foundation’s efforts to increase availability of CML testing for accurate diagnosis and testing.

The 22nd of September (9/22) is World CML Day. To support the work of the iCMLf we ask you to pledge 9 pounds* a month for the next 22 months**.

July 2016 - Three new online presentations have recently been added to the Virtual Education Program. Again we were able to engage leaders in the field of CML toVEP Mahon talk about the latest scientific findings on the management of CML. View the following new presentations featuring:

  • Stopping TKI therapy in Chronic Myeloid Leukemia
    Francois-Xavier Mahon, Hospital University of Bordeaux, France
  • Treating pediatric Chronic Myeloid Leukemia – an update
    Meinolf Suttorp, University Hospital Dresden, Germany
  • Perspectives on CML in the Emerging Regions (Interview)
    Pat Garcia-Gonzalez, CEO of The MAX Foundation and recipient of the inaugural iCMLf Prize

You can access the new presentations here